What exactly are the 4 C’s of diamonds?

The 4 C’s of Diamonds and What You Need to Know

The most valuable pieces of jewelry you own are probably worth the least. Your cameo brooch that your grandmother and mother wore or the noodle necklace your child made in kindergarten are priceless to you. When it comes to diamonds, however, their value is measured much differently. It is important to have an understanding of the 4 C’s of diamonds, in order to attain a better understanding of the value of diamonds.

The 4 C’s of Diamonds

The 4 C’s of diamonds are how diamonds are judged and professionally “graded.” Their value in dollars are determined by:

  • 1. Cut
  • 2. Color
  • 3. Clarity
  • 4. Carat weight

1. Cut.

The cut is the most critical aspect of a diamond’s beauty. It is a reflection of the designer’s artistry and skill. The more precise the cut, the more captivating the diamond. The cut is what gives your diamond ring or diamond necklace its sparkle. When purchasing a diamond, ask your jeweler for diamonds rated Very Good or better in cut.

2. Color

Diamonds have many different colors and after cut, their colors are most important. Diamond values can be partially based on their hues. With diamonds, less is actually more. White “colorless” diamonds are the most valuable because they are the rarest. They are the highest grade for color; D-F. Diamonds graded G-H are considered a very good value. There are occasions when colored diamonds are actually more valuable than colorless, because they are graded separately. Diamond shades can range from light yellow to even a light brown. They can appear slightly tinged with blue, red, or pink.

3. Clarity

Most diamonds have external blemishes or internal inclusions that affect their value. These are defects, but can usually only be seen with magnification using a jeweler’s “eye.” At ten times’ magnification, it is very rare to find a diamond without a blemish or inclusion. On a jewelry grading scale, the perfect diamond would be FL (flawless).i. Carat

4. Carat

Mae West said, “I never care about diets. The only carrots that interest me are the number you get in a diamond.” “Carat” is probably the most well-known of the 4 C’s of diamonds. A carat is how a diamond’s weight is measured. One carat equals approximately .007 ounce. The weight of a diamond may have nothing to do with its size. Savvy shoppers often look for diamonds that fall just short of a percentage point of being a full carat. A 1.78 carat will cost less, but it can appear the same size as a 2-carat diamond.

The “Fifth C” is Confidence

While the 4 C’s of diamonds are more common, the American Gem Society says there’s actually a fifth C: Confidence. You can be assured your jewelry is honestly represented and the quality true when your jeweler is trustworthy and experienced.

Contact Les Olson Jewelers to Learn More About the 4 C’s of Diamonds

At Les Olson Jewelers, we care about our friends and neighbors and want them to be able to make informed choices when buying, resizing, or redesigning jewelry. If you have questions about the 4 C’s of diamonds or wish to learn more about gemstones or other wearable art, call 727.785.9624 today.

Leave a reply